SWTOR: Scoundrel – Dirty Fighting back into SWTOR’s PvP scene

Screenshot_2013-12-12_17_19_42_891266

When I came back to SWTOR, I was kinda lost as everything was unfamiliar.  I even rolled a brand new alt just to get used to basic skills.  I quickly abandoned that and just alternated between my lvl 54 Sentinel and my two lvl 50-53 Scoundrels (specc’d heals and dps) for a few days.  

Solely focusing on PvP, I noticed that Beausoleil (lvl 53 Scoundrel) was around lvl 67 Valor and my other two guys were about lvl 58 Valor.  Well, I decided to keep playing Beausoleil until I hit valor lvl 70, which was the old War Hero title level iirc.  Incidentally, it seems gear isn’t gated by Valor level anymore so it’s more of a epeen status.  

As a Scoundrel from launch day to about the 1.4 update, I alternated between scrapper and sawbones trait lines.  Sawbones, our healing trait line, is definitely the strongest trait line in the Scoundrel tree and fun to play with.  Non-Scoundrels and groups seem to prefer this trait line for its obvious benefits.  While it’s a powerful trait line, fun and always welcome in WZs, I needed to try something different to avoid the dreaded burnout.  So, I made the switch over to Dirty Fighting tree and haven’t looked back.  For those not familiar, Dirty Fighting is a DOT build that operates in and out of melee range.

Why this DPS trait line over the Scrapper line?  The Scrapper has been nerfed to the ground over the course of the game and is much less effective than at launch.  MMOs seem to have the biggest issues balancing Rogue style classes.  It can still be a very effective single target damage spec in the right hands but I never felt very comfortable as a scrapper or really very good at it, especially once you’ve run through an initial skill rotation. I  much rather weave in and out of traffic, applying my DOTs and stressing healers than picking out 1 weak target to take down

So how was the warzone experience? I started at lvl 53 which put me in the 30-54 bracket with my obsolete War Hero (lvl 61 mods) gear.  I was totally lost in Arena’s but that’s another topic.  Once I got used to the skill tree and my control scheme, I had a lot of fun.  Even lopsided loses were not bad enough to make me stop completely…maybe stop for 15 min or so, but not rage quit.  My focus was on enjoying myself, learning my control scheme, and saving up my commendations.  SWTOR does have a bloster mechanic and for the most part I didn’t change my gear, even when it probably would have helped.

One word on enjoying yourself, General Chat and Ops chat in PvP can be such a cesspool of hate and ignorance that it can really take the joy from you.  Don’t give it any due, look at it as noise and ignore it.  I know, getting killed then spit on by some character named “Tampon” can make you question why am I doing this, my advice is to laugh it off however you can and be the better gamer.  Of course you can turn it around and decide to single out certain targets and ignore the WZ objectives. I’ve never done that, never.

Time flew and in no time I hit lvl 55.  Once there I tried a few WZs still in my War Hero gear and was promptly smashed in a couple global cooldowns, it was not too funny.  I tried to hide the best I could and squeeze in a few more comms so that I had almost maxed out both my Ranked Wz comms and regular Wz comms.  I bartered for some immediate upgrades to my main weapon and armor and have been getting at least 1 piece upgraded to Conqueror level every day. I’ve definitely noticed I can take and dish out a lot more damage than before, which of course makes for a better experience.

Leave a Reply

