Getting some Final Fantasy XIV when i can

which hasn’t been much.  Don’t worry I’m not having any hissy fit.  When I have been able to log in, it’s great and I’m having a good time.  I’m having much better luck logging on the Japanese servers but I’m reluctant to commit to that as my ‘home’ is on a NA server with a free company, etc.

So, I wouldn’t say it’s been a disaster but it’s been frustrating at times but I’m not upset about it…yet.  I’m giving Square Enix plenty of room to fix these issues and will reserve my decision on a sub till I have to make a choice…ie, they have 30 days to fix this.  We’ve probably been somewhat spoiled to expecting relatively flawless mmo launches of late.  My most recent experiences have been Rift, SWTOR, and GW2.  Rift and GW2 were a great experience and while Rift had some issues with cue times, I’d grade SWTOR’s launch less due to their server problems and BW’s response.

Anyway, back to the game.  I leveled my Arcanist to 20 then started on my Conjurer and Thaumaturge (they are each in the 10ish range). You are given a buffet table of options to level, it’s really easy to get side tracked and lose focus…and again, if you do get sidetracked, you’ll get nice surprising along the way and it’s certainly not detrimental to your advancement.  Right now my plan is to get my Conjurer and Thaumaturge to 15 then back to Arcanist till 30 and after that, I’ll look at crafting.

Did I say it’s a beautiful world!  And no screenshots to share lol…my bad.  My only grip in terms of aesthetics is the lack of weathering effects in the major cities.  I’m not saying there’s no weathering, it just not very evident to me in my limited exploration.

One thought on “Getting some Final Fantasy XIV when i can

  1. Cool beans. I’d like to try the game out, but I’m playing both WoW and Rift right now, so it might be a bit before I pick up FFXIV.

Leave a Reply

