How I’m using the LOTRO XP disabler-update

So a few days ago I posted about using the XP disabler and now that I’ve had a week of using it here are some thoughts.

First of all, there are lots of good games out there + few hours of discretionary gaming time = some tough choices.  However, it hasn’t been that difficult of late and I’ve spent plenty of time looking at the LOTRO log in screen thinking about what Rohan daily I needed to do for my next Champ piece.  That being said,  all is not well.  A week or so ago, I was getting that “feeling” again and the game was starting to wear on me.  Well, just about when I thinking of taking a hiatus, a kinnie mentioned a new kinship they were forming that would be dedicated to Shadows of Angmar content, otherwise known as the original LOTRO release content.  So, a group of us rolled new alts with the idea of stopping at 50 thanks to the XP disabler.   No help from alts, no crafting, no crafted gear, no Legendary weapons, no skirmishes, no AH/skirmish gear,…its pretty simple, quest and instances between time on our lvl 85s.  So far we are pausing here and there for a critical mass of players to run instances and gear up via quest/classic instances/raids.  When I find myself too far ahead on the leveling speed, I pop in the disabler and the problem solves itself.

It’s an easy way to juggle an alt, no LI grind, and more importantly it makes the Shadows of Angmar content RELEVANT again for these characters and not a mere layover on the way to 85.  When you think about it, it breaks LOTRO down to 2 games…a lvl 50 game and a lvl 85 game.

The results so far:  FUN!  Our fastest levelers are holding steady at lvl 30 till we get some more peeps for GA runs.  Running around with lvl 5 gear when you are lvl 20 does not keep you from having fun.  Straight questing in crappy gear (solo and fellowship) didn’t pose any bumps/barriers to fun but it did make it interesting.  I never had to stop for crafting or spend time sorting out my bags..all which made the transition from quest to quest seemless.  I had no qualms about vendoring tons of scholar crafting mats.  The only noticeable issue was that we all started to have power issues in prolonged fights.  I was eating through those lvl 10 power pots..but that only lasted a few levels and things have gotten much better since the Minstrel Fate/Will buff.

3-man Goblin throne(lvl 20): very challenging fight (Guard, Hunter, Minstrel , we wiped a number of times and only succeeded by the smallest of margins.
6-man or was it a 5-man Great
Barrow: no sweat…..We did all 3 of the GB 6-man instances back to back at level 22 and had maybe 1-2 deaths.  It was (Champ, Guard, Hunter, Minstrel  Captain) somewhat anti-climatic ending as it was an easy ride and the absence of any loot drops from the chest.  But hey,  I’m now rolling in uber GB gear and ready to hit GA.
Two thumbs up
 for XP disabler!

One thought on “How I’m using the LOTRO XP disabler-update

  1. Pingback: Don’t Burnout! Diversify! | The Fanatical Swordsman

Leave a Reply

