XP disabler and vanilla LOTRO

First of all, I was blown away by the Elder Scrolls Online (ESO) http://elderscrollsonline.com/en video and beta sign up call this week. Yeah, not a lot of actual gameplay but, oh my those cinematics were great. I have been chewing up Elder scrolls information and lore like a fat kid in the candy store. I even fired up Skyrim for a bit with all that energy and did a little exploring with my lvl 16 Nord Warrior/Mage-ee type. Multiplayer is the one key missing ingredient that the elder scrolls francise was lacking so I’m sooooo looking forward to see how they pull this all together.. and keeping my fingers crossed for a beta invite.

So, when I wasn’t pouring over ESO, I was busy in LOTRO. On my lvl 85 Champion, I’ve been gearing him up and running the Hytbold dailies. I did partake in one of the BG 1st boss farming runs and didn’t get any 2nd age symbol drops. However, all was not lost, a kinnie was nice enough to mail me a 2nd age 2-handed sword…I am in his debt. I’m one armour piece away from the 85 Beserker armour set. My jewelry is so-so but overall I’m ready for any instances. I also rolled a new dwarf Ministrel, again thanks to some kinnies. The story behind that is a couple of kinnies got together and started an alternate kinship for lvl 1-50 (vanilla LOTRO) content and with some special rules/guidelines. We are only using quest rewards for gear, no crafting, no lotro store, and no help in any form from alts. We’ve all run through this content more than once, most half a dozen times or more, and we could do it with our eyes closed so these small restrictions make it a more interesting challenge. The other intriguing part is that we all plan to remain at lvl 50…thanks to LOTRO’s new XP disabler. The community has long cried out for something like this and I see why. Of course, I have no idea how this will work but the journey has been a breath of fresh air so far and I’m looking forward to it.  Vanilla LOTRO, here I come!

I did a little SWTOR but I’m finding it harder and harder to log in given my choices at the moment. I’m really looking forward to the GW2 update and I plan on giving that game some love soon.

Leave a Reply

